Category Archives: Awards

Ailo Aasen has been awarded the EFCE Thermodynamics and Transport Properties Prize for his PhD thesis

Congratulations to Ailo! Ailo Aasen’s PhD thesis has been awarded the Excellence Award in Thermodynamics and Transport Properties from the European Federation of Chemical Engineers (EFCE). His supervisors were Prof. Øivind Wilhelmsen (PoreLab) and Dr. Morten Hammer (SINTEF Energy Research). This prize is awarded to one PhD thesis every other year. The thesis is entitled

Read More

The winner of the InterPore – PoreLab Award for young researchers in 2021 is Maja Rücker

This year InterPore reported having a large number of high-quality nominees leading to a strong competition, but the members of the Honors and Awards Committee have made their choice. The InterPore-PoreLab award for young researchers goes to Dr. Maja Rücker from the department of Mechanical Engineering at Eindhoven University of Technology, the Netherlands.   Congratulations!   Maja

Read More

The winner of the InterPore – PoreLab Award for young researchers in 2020 is Hamed Aslannejad

Based on the recommendation of the Awards Committee of the International Society for Porous Media (InterPore), Dr. Hamed Aslannejad has been selected to receive the InterPore – PoreLab Award 2020 for Young Researchers. Congratulations! Hamed is a post-doc researcher at Utrecht University in the Netherlands. His current research concerns the interaction of water-based inks and

Read More

Onsager Professorship 2019 – Medal and Lecture

From left to right: Miguel Rubi, Alex Hansen, Signe Kjelstrup, Daan Frenkel, Erika Eiser,and Dick Bedeaux (picture: Marie-Laure Olivier) The distinguished scientist selected for the Onsager professorship this year is Daan Frenkel from the University of Cambridge. He received the Onsager silver medal on Nov.7, and gave the lecture “Entropy and complex assembly” in front

Read More

About InterPore Awards – Deadline: 15 November 2019

InterPore – PoreLab Award for Young Researchers (formerly Fraunhofer Award for Young Researchers) The International Society for Porous Media, InterPore, on behalf of PoreLab announces a Young Researcher Award in recognition of outstanding contributions in the field of porous media from a fundamental point of view. The research may be theoretical, computational, or experimental. Award winners will

Read More

Dr. Tom Bultreys, winner 2019 of the InterPore – PoreLab Award for Young Researchers – Congratulations!

Dr. Tom Bultreys, from Ghent University, Belgium, has contributed significantly to the field of pore-scale imaging and modeling. During his PhD, he developed a multi-scale network model to describe rocks with a very wide range of pore sizes. New concepts were developed, which have already found commercial applications. In his subsequent work at Imperial College,

Read More

Scroll Up