Professor Signe Kjelstrup receives the InterPore Honorary Lifetime Membership Award 2022 – Congratulations!

The InterPore Honorary Lifetime Membership Award is reserved for individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to porous media science and technology, who are world-renowned in the porous media community, and whose contributions are consistent with the aims and ideals of InterPore.

InterPore is pleased to announce that the Honorary Lifetime Membership Award 2022 goes to Professor Signe Kjelstrup, Principal Investigator of PoreLab Center of Excellence, Norway. The committee writes:

She has made extraordinary contributions in applying the methods of non-equilibrium thermodynamics based on energy conservation, entropy production and local thermal equilibrium to describe multiphase flow in porous media. Her outstanding work in equilibrium and non-equilibrium thermodynamics is widely known, not only from her many scientific papers, but also from a series of books, including a book for engineering students, “Non-Equilibrium Thermodynamics for Engineers”. Prof. Kjelstrup has widely applied novel scientific ideas in porous media science, from hydrogen-based fuel cell technology to the transport of nano-sized medication particles in the blood stream and the minimization of heat loss of reindeer and seal noses in winter. She is a principal investigator in PoreLab Center of Excellence at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) in Trondheim, Norway, where she has overseen graduate education and delivered a generation of researchers and engineers within the fields of equilibrium and non-equilibrium thermodynamics and porous media.