We are glad to invite you to our next Porous Media Tea Time Talks (#PorousMediaTTT) session on 25.08.2020 at 3 pm CEST, which will be streamed live on our YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuK0ogQKdSxq6pW-vljLN1Q

Direct link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6QGbTzAGlXM

You can ask questions anytime using the comment field on YouTube.

I think the work in these presentations are very much related to a lot of the activity both in Oslo and Trondheim. They will talk about wettability effects in multiphasic flows in both 2D (micromodels) and 3D (X-ray CT).

The two presentations are:

Three-phase flow in porous media: dynamics and wettability at the pore scale
By: Alessio Scanziani, International Energy Agency, France

  • We developed a method to visualise the simultaneous flow of three phases in porous media using X-ray computed tomography.
  • The use of dynamic synchrotron imaging allowed to visualise pore-scale dynamics peculiar to three-phase flow, such as multiple displacements.
  • The effects of wettability were studied by using samples for which the wettability was altered through ageing in crude oil


Extending Lenormand’s phase diagram of fluid-fluid displacement in porous media

By: Bauyrzhan Primkulov, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

  • Lenormand, Touboul, and Zarcone (JFM, 1988) suggested that the character of two-phase flow in porous media can be determined through two dimensionless numbers: capillary number and viscosity ratio.
  • Many experiments since then suggest that wettability is the third dimensionless parameter missing from Lenormand’s phase diagram.
  • In this talk, I will highlight our recent efforts in completing the diagram for the arbitrary wettability of porous media.

Please feel free to share and forward the invite.

We are very much looking forward to seeing you online!

Marcel Moura on behalf of the Porous Media TTT Team

PorousMediaTTT team

Maja Rücker, Imperial College London, UK
Kamaljit Singh, Heriot-Watt University, UK
Tom Bultreys, Ghent University, Belgium
Mohammad Nooraiepour, University of Oslo, Norway
Marcel Moura, PoreLab, University of Oslo, Norway