Porous Media Tea Time Talk #12

The PorousMediaTTT team is happy to invite you to our first Porous Media Tea Time Talks (#PorousMediaTTT) session in collaboration with the Brazil Interpore Chapter committee.

This Brazil Interpore special is scheduled for the 26.01.2021 at 15:00 (Oslo time) local time on: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuK0ogQKdSxq6pW-vljLN1Q .

The two presentations are:


Pore-scale modeling of wettability effects on gas-condensate flow.

By: Paula Reis, Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

  • Compositional pore-network modeling of gas-condensate flow under different wettability conditions
  • Implementation of wettability effects on condensation modes and two-phase flow patterns
  • Identification of optimal production conditions based on wettability, thermodynamic state, and gas flow velocity.




Modeling heat and fluid mass transfer through induced fractures in deformable porous media using high aspect ratio interface elements.

By: Michael Maedo, São Paulo State University, Brazil

  • Evolving fractures in porous are simulated via high aspect ratio interface elements, that are inserted in-between the regular (bulk) elements of  the original finite element mesh.
  • The coupled Thermo-Hydro-Mechanical behavior of fractured porous media is studied and the formulation is verified and validated against analytical and experimental results.
  • This is a very promising technique to model evolving fractures in porous media, because no special interpolation functions or fracture tracking algorithms are required to capture the fracture evolution trend.


The goal of the Porous Media TTT is to act as a complimentary platform to the already very successful Geoscience and Geoenergy webinars with the focus placed on young professionals. The 30 min webinar, including two presentations (2 x 10 + 5 min) from speakers of different institutes, will occur fortnightly at varying times to accommodate researchers from around the world.


Marcel on behalf of the PorousMediaTTT team:

Catherine Spurin, Imperial College London, UK

Maja Rücker, Eindhoven University of Technology, NL
Kamaljit Singh, Heriot-Watt University, UK
Tom Bultreys, Ghent University, Belgium
Mohammad Nooraiepour, University of Oslo, Norway

Arjen Mascini, Ghent University, Belgium
Marcel Moura, PoreLab, University of Oslo, Norway