Delegation from H2020 EU funded project ERICA at PoreLab Trondheim

On March the 7 and 8th, 2019, PoreLab Trondheim organised a workshop with members of the ERICA network. ERICA stands for “Engineered calcium-silicate-hydrates for applications” and is a project of the type MSCA-ITN-ETN – European Training Networks financed by EU H2020. It is coordinated by the University of Surrey.

The NTNU wishes to become partner in the MSCA ITN project ERICA through PoreLab and the Department of Structural Engineering. Representatives from the ERICA network and coming from the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL, Switzerland) attended this workshop.

The purpose of this 2-day mini workshop, with Dr. Fabien Georget and Mr Khalil Ferjaoui coming from EPFL, was to discuss the possibility and conditions for NTNU to join the ERICA network.

The overall theme is chloride ingress in cementitious materials.

The agenda of the workshop can be found here: ERICA_NTNU_Program.

It was decided that the collaboration could start in the spring 2019. The PhD candidate, Mr Khalil Ferjaoui, will stay at PoreLab for an extended period. His activities will be performed uner the guidance of three groups: EPFL, PoreLab and the Department of Structural Engineering.

There will be as well exchanges between EPFL and NTNU through short visits during the entire collaboration.

ERICA delegation to PoreLab Trondheim:

From left to right: Professor Mette Rica Geiker (department of Structural Engineering, NTNU), Professor Alex Hansen (Director PoreLab, department of Physics, NTNU), Dr. Fabien Georget (Scientist, Construction Materials Laboratory, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), Professor Miguel Rubi (University of Barcelona), Professor Signe Kjelstrup (department of Chemistry, NTNU), Petter Hemstad (PhD candidate, department of Structural Engineering, NTNU), Associate Professor Klaartje De Weerdt (department of Structural Engineering, NTNU), Dr. Srutarshi Pradhan (Researcher, department of Physics, NTNU), Professor Dick Bedeaux (Professor Emeritus, department of Chemistry, NTNU) and Khalil Ferjaoui (PhD candidate, Construction Materials Laboratory, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne)